Skip to content

Are We Past the Point of 3D as a Gimmick?

December 22, 2012

Zack & Nick's Culture Cast

I think I saw about twenty different moves in theaters in the past calendar year. The first movie I saw in 2012 was The Grey. The most recent is The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey. Most movies I saw in the theaters this year were in the standard 2D. I saw five films in the extra dimension, three of which I paid a premium IMAX price to see. I could have seen many of the rest, including The Avengers, Wreck-It Ralph, and Brave, in 3D had I really wanted to, but ultimately did not. When I last looked at my local theater listing, approximately half the movies playing had an extra option, either 3D, IMAX 3D, or HFR 3D. I think it might truly be the time to stop calling 3D movies a fad – I think they’re here to stay.

3-d-glasses-traditional

The first recent 3D movie…

View original post 729 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

