Skip to content

DIY Botanical & Animal Art

January 5, 2013

Tulle and Trinkets

diy illustrated bird plates

I love the look of old botanical and animal illustrations, so I was thrilled when my friend Moriya shared an online database that has TONS of botanical literature that is free to download. PS – Check out Moriya’s blog, where she shares fantastic DIY home projects!

The site, Botanicus.org,  is a little hard to navigate, but if you click around enough, you will find scientific illustrations of plants, animals, birds, and more. I spent an entire evening looking through the site, and I ended up printing out a few illustrations to decorate our apartment.

The first two illustrations I printed are these birds:

diy illustrated bird plates

I printed them on off-white card stock for an antiqued look.

diy illustrated bird plates

I then went to Goodwill and bought old, thin, and gold photo frames.

diy illustrated bird plates

They cost me a whopping $2.

diy illustrated bird plates

I trimmed around the illustrations so they would fit in the frames.

diy illustrated bird plates

And now I have lovely…

View original post 32 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

