Skip to content

Skipping Stones In the Pond Of Life & Death

January 5, 2013

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

They say that even when someone dies, they aren’t fully gone; they live on in the memories of those who knew them.  I think that the opposite is also true.  When someone dies, they take some of our memories with them.

In the past few days, two people I know died.  They weren’t especially close friends; they were so much older than I that to claim friendship would be impertinent.  But they were both people I admired and now they are gone.

The first, George, was a respected business and philanthropic leader in our community.  He and his family have been loyal clients and friends of my husband’s family for many, many years.  He treated me with unfailingly courtesy in the more than 25 years I was privileged to know him.  I would be hard pressed to think of someone who better personified the term “gentle man”.

The second, Marthe…

View original post 536 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

